Governor-elect Ned Lamont Announces Diverse Transition Team

View this post in other languages: Português, Español

News, Politics

Governor-elect Ned Lamont Announces Diverse Transition Team

By Tribuna Staff

Governor-elect Ned Lamont and Lieutenant Governor-elect Susan Bysiewicz announced members of their Transition Steering Committee, a bipartisan and diverse group, including Republicans, Latinos and religious leaders, at a press conference earlier this month, at Gateway Community College in New Haven, CT.

“Our Steering Committee is going to help us build policy committees, each one with a mandate to make policy recommendations to Susan and me before we take office,” said Lamont. “We have been focused every day on job creation and fixing the budget. This team will help us convene the talent that we need to attract more companies to the state, build vibrant cities and retain the next generation workforce.

Two days after the election, Lamont announced the co-leaders of the transition team, Attorney General George C. Jepsen and Rep. Toni E. Walker, D-New Haven, the House chair of the budget-writing Appropriations Committee. Jepsen is a former Senate majority leader and state chair of the Democratic Party.

The others are Elsa Nunez, president of Eastern Connecticut State University, and Garret Moran, a personal friend and president of the Year Up, a nonprofit organization that provides technical and life skills training to disadvantaged high school students.

Ryan Drajewicz, a senior management associate at the hedge fund Bridgewater Associates, will serve as director of the transition team. He previously worked on the staff of former U.S. Sen. Christopher Dodd. He is taking a leave of absence from Bridgewater.

The names and brief biographies of the remaining members were released on Nov. 15, and include two prominent influencers in the Republican Party:

Greg Butler is executive vice president and general counsel for Eversource Energy. He is responsible for Legal, Corporate Governance, Federal Governmental Affairs, Internal Audit and Security and Energy Supply. Erin Stewart, serving in her third term as mayor of New Britain, began her public service career at a young age, and briefly ran for governor against Lamont. She has invested resources in helping New Britain’s homeless population through creation of the Building Hope Together Task Force. She grew up in New Britain, and is a graduate of New Britain High School and Central Connecticut State University.

The list also includes Dr. Saud Anwar, who specializes in lung diseases and critical care medicine.

Lisa Tepper Bates is a consultant with Fio Partners, specializing in strategic planning for nonprofits.

Keith R. Brothers serves as the business manager of the CT Laborers’ District Council, secretary treasurer of the CT State Building Trades Council and president of the Norwich/New London Building Trades Council.

Larry Fox has worked in and around the labor movement for decades as a union leader, Deputy Commissioner of Labor and organizational development consultant, working with unions, government, the health care industry and various non-profits on leadership and change issues.

Rabbi Doniel Ginsberg has been involved in education his entire career and is passionate about promoting educational excellence.

Jan Hochadel serves as president of American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Connecticut. Prior to her election, Hochadel taught physics and science in the state’s technical high schools and was recognized as a Teacher of the Year in 2006. She is as a vice president with the Connecticut AFL-CIO and serves on the national AFT’s executive board.

Karen Jarmoc is the chief executive officer of the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence, where she has led efforts to improve policy and practice for domestic violence survivors since 2011

Beth Kerrigan is deputy mayor of West Hartford. She was the lead plaintiff in the case Kerrigan v. Department of Public Health (DPH), which successfully won marriage equality in Connecticut.

Bob Martino is a partner at Updike, Kelly and Spellacy. He is treasurer of the firm and chair of the firm’s Commercial Lending & Banking and Real Estate Finance Practice Groups.

Tom McCarthy is director of labor relations for the City of New Haven. McCarthy served 17 years on the Bridgeport City Council with 10 of those years leading the Council as the Council president.
Jorge Perez has a 30-year record of experience providing fiscal, strategic, compliance and leadership experience in diverse and uniquely challenging positions in both the private and public sectors.

Chase Rogers was chief justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, whose career in the judiciary spanned over two decades. She is currently chair of Day Pitney’s Appellate Practice group.

Chris Rosario has served in the State House since 2014, serving as chief majority whip and chair of the Black and Latino Caucus.

David Salinas is founder of District, a modern-day technology and innovation ecosystem, as well as the co-founder and former CEO of Digital Surgeons, a full-service digital agency servicing Fortune 500 clients.

Glendowlyn Thames is the executive director of CTNext, where she manages an array of strategic economic development programs assisting hundreds of entrepreneurs and early stage companies while leveraging innovation and entrepreneurship policy to transform Connecticut.

Stan Twardy is a leading corporate litigator. His practice is focused on helping clients with criminal, civil and regulatory investigations conducted by federal and state agencies.

Elease Wright built a career at Aetna Inc., where she served as the chief human resources officer for fifteen years.

Lt. J. Paul Vance has been a Connecticut state trooper for more than 40 years. In July 2006, he was promoted to the rank of master sergeant and in October 2006, he was promoted to his current rank of lieutenant.


“There will be policy committees on a range of areas, from education and health care to government data. The steering committee members will stand up each of those committees and review their policy recommendations. They are diverse, talented and each possesses a different expertise. We will continue to look at reorganizing government, ensuring greater efficiency and bringing new ideas to make our state stronger. I am incredibly grateful to these individuals for volunteering their time to help us hit the ground running,” said Lamont


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedIn
November 21, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *